There is a theory that the origins of the Mizuhiki Shuraku community come from when hunters attracted by the good spring waters started to settle here. The tasty spring water still today wells up beside Yamagami.
All the homes in the community were burned down by large fires in 1886 and 1896. Nevertheless, five thatched roof homes rebuilt after the great fires still remain along the old road.
This community is not a tourist destination. Therefore, there is no parking lot. Please quietly experience the seasonal features of the mountain village and the appearance of the community surrounded by forest and water.
- Approx.. 45 minutes by car from Aizukogen-Ozeguchi Station operated by Aizu Railway
- Car Park
- Reviews (TripAdvisor)
- Tateiwa Tourist Information Center of Minamiaizu Tourist Association
- Telephone Number